About Us

Municipal Elections will take place in Nova Scotia on October 17, 2020.  This involves the municipal units of the Municipality of Pictou County, Town of New Glasgow, Town of Pictou, Town of Stellarton, Town of Trenton and the Town of Westville.

All of the local municipalities will use the same returning officer Josephine MacDonald to conduct their elections.  All of the units have also agreed that only electronic voting will take place in the County meaning no paper ballots will be cast in 2020.

Electronic voting will be via the internet or by phone call.  Voters will receive information in the mail about electronic voting and a help desk will be established to assist people with their questions. 

Candidates wanting to put their name forward should read the candidate's guide Uploads/Candidates-Guide.pdf and pay close attention to the deadlines.

Nomination day for candidates is September 8, 2020, but appointments can be made a week leading up to this date.

Josephine MacDonald can be reached by calling 902-485-2248 or by emailing [email protected]